• 5 star rating  I booked a kayak tour for my daughter, son in law and 3 granddaughters. It was a excellent way to spend time as a family and be on the water as a group. Scott and his wife were fantastic. They provided a safe, fun and educational experience not only for the grandkids, but for the adults as well. Their patience, especially with the younger girls was amazing and greatly appreciated. Although I have lived in St Pete Beach for 18 years, this was the first time using Island Kayak Tours but it will certainly not be the last. We have already shared the great experience with neighbors, friends and will book a tour in May for our next wave of visitors from up North. Well done Scott & Island Kayak Tours!

    Ron Geer

    St Pete Beach

    Ronald Geer Avatar Ronald Geer
    4/10/2018

    5 star rating  This was the coolest thing we have done as a family since coming on spring break in the past 15 years. We have four sons ages 14 - 21 and each brought a friend. Everyone had a blast and Scott and his wife were so helpful and knowledgeable. If you are looking for something a little different and a day off the beach - you have to call Island Kayak Adventures!!!

    Rick Coberly Avatar Rick Coberly
    4/03/2018

    5 star rating  I had a fantastic time with Karissa & Scott on the Island Kayak Tour! They are both so personable and I was able to learn a lot about the different plants and wildlife in the area. The tour was gorgeous and we were even able to see dolphins and ducks (which swam right alongside our kayaks). It is such a reasonable price and I would do it again tomorrow if they weren’t already booked! I can’t say enough about them - they know how to run a business!!

    H S Avatar H S
    3/29/2018

    5 star rating  There is an expectation when you are hiring a guide that they will be professional, knowledgeable, and experienced. At the launch site, Scott came up and warmly greeted us with a smile and an extended hand. Not only was he what people would expect in a guide, but he also has the added expertise from growing up kayaking and fishing this very area. After instructing us on the various paddle strikes he got our group launched and proceeded to lead us to the mangrove tunnels, then to an island for shelling and sightseeing the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. His description of the area as well as the local flora and wildlife spoke to his experience and knowledge, but also to his passion about the area as this has been his home his entire life. My fiancée and I had a great time on our tour and I wouldn't hesitate to refer anyone to take a kayaking tour with Island Kayak Adventures.

    Andrew Jansen Avatar Andrew Jansen
    3/03/2018

    5 star rating  This has been the best activity of our vacation. We took the sunset tour, which was beautiful. Great weather, and kayaking through the mangrove trees was awesome. Scott and Karissa are terrific, very personable people who are very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. Highly recommend, and we look forward to our next trip to the area so that we can do another tour.

    Patrick Rodgers Avatar Patrick Rodgers
    2/26/2018

    5 star rating  Was our first time kayaking and so glad we chose to go out with them. Very enjoyable friendly, knowledgeable couple. Would definitely choose them again if we don’t get our own. Very affordable too.

    Amy Scarborough Avatar Amy Scarborough
    2/14/2018
  • 5 star rating  What a great adventure! My friend and I were on vacation and decided to look for a kayaking trip. Scott and his wife were awesome! They took the time to tell us about the preserve, show us things along the way, collect shells with us, and take a trip into the mangroves. We were like friends by the end of the morning. The most down to earth, knowledgeable, fun guides we could ask for!

    Laurie Mancuso Avatar Laurie Mancuso
    2/11/2018

    5 star rating  My “Shell Sister” and I are always on the hunt for treasures. Shelling is one of our favorite hobbies. There’s nothing like vitamin sea! We made the trek from Clermont for the day, spent the morning trolling the shores of Fort Desoto then met up with Scott to rent a kayak. We originally thought we’d venture off on our own, but he offered to have us tag along through the mangroves then part ways to visit shell key! This untouched area is beyond beautiful and the treasures didn’t disappoint. (Only wish we had More time) Scott went above and beyond our expectations! He was Friendly and knowledgeable! He also kept safety in the forefront. He had his partner Crissia show us the best spot on shell key! We are both leaders working for the famous mouse so we know a thing or two when it comes to great guest experiences. This adventure is sure to impress! I totally recommend Island Kayak Adventures to anyone looking for fun! This is the best price for experience around! But don’t just take my word for it... go ADVENTURE

    Fallon Poole Avatar Fallon Poole
    2/09/2018

    5 star rating  Scott was knowledgeable and friendly. Spent a generous three hours with our group. Tour was enjoyed by our kids (10, 12, 15, 16) and adults. Scott even recommended some nearby restaurants that our family enjoyed. Highly recommend.

    Paul Conforti Avatar Paul Conforti
    1/02/2018

    5 star rating  My fiance and I rented a couple of kayaks for a self guided tour and it was the best kayak rental experience we've ever had anywhere! Scott and Karissa were incredibly friendly, informative, and helpful. The kayaks were very well maintained. The area was amazingly beautiful. We loved that we were able to extend our trip time with ease. We ended up spending 5 hours on Shell Key and paddling around the preserve. The map they provided was really nice to have. We will definitely book with them anytime we are in the area!

    Kaylee Acres Avatar Kaylee Acres
    12/31/2017

    5 star rating  This was our first kayak experience. We were travelling with our 2 kids (13 & 9), and did not know what to expect. Scott and his wife made it so simple. They both are very sweet and paced according to us. The kids loved it! Scott is very patient and answered all our questions (sometimes all 4 of us asking the same thing at different times :-D). I would highly recommend this company for anyone who is looking for an amazing afternoon. You all are the best!

    Rupali Tayal Avatar Rupali Tayal
    12/01/2017

    5 star rating  Very rarely do I feel I have received service worthy of a 5 star rating, but Island Kayak tours is the real deal. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary week in St. Pete and decided to spend our actual anniversary kayaking. While I had kayaked before, my wife had not and was very nervous. Scott and Karissa, the owners, made her feel very comfortable from the very start and spent extra time with her to teach her different strokes before we launched. While neither my wife nor I were fast paddlers we never felt rushed or compelled to paddle faster than we wanted to. Both Scott and Karissa are very knowledgeable about both the area and the wildlife and the commentary they provided along the way felt very organic and unrehearsed (a departure from other tours I have done). While we had originally signed up for a 50/50 tour so we would have some time to explore on our own, Scott and Karissa were so friendly and knowledgeable we did not even want to break away in the middle of the trip. On the return we saw a pod of dolphins which swam right around us to feed and even though we were coming up on the end of the time the tour was supposed to be over Scott and Karissa asked if we wanted to hang around for a while to watch the dolphins. The simple fact that they were willing to extend the tour by 30 to 45min at no additional cost to ensure we enjoyed ourselves proved to me that they are in the business for all the right reasons. The price for the 3(+) hour tour was more than fair and I would even go so far to say the price could be much higher given the value we felt we received walking away from the trip. I wish the owners much success and encourage anyone considering a kayak tour to give Island Tours a shot.

    Jason Shontz Avatar Jason Shontz
    11/30/2017
  • 5 star rating  My friend and I stumbled upon this deal today, and we couldn't have been happier! Scott and Carissa really delivered an excellent, quality experience at a VERY affordable cost. I will definitely be back!

    Doug Hanson Avatar Doug Hanson
    11/04/2017

    5 star rating  My friend and I stumbled upon this deal today, and we couldn't have been happier! Scott and Carissa really delivered an excellent, quality experience at a VERY affordable cost. I will definitely be back!

    Doug Hanson Avatar Doug Hanson
    11/04/2017

    5 star rating  We had a chance to go out last week with Scott and Carissa. We loved every minute. They were very knowledgeable about the ecosystem and we learned a lot. We also got to see a shark, which was pretty cool! We made it home with some amazing shells too.

    Sara McNew Riley Avatar Sara McNew Riley
    10/23/2017

    5 star rating  This was our first time kayaking and it was totally worth it. Scott is super friendly, helpful, and informative. He took us through a few mangrove tunnels and eventually to a gorgeous little beach (Shell Key) and gave us plenty of time to collect beautiful shells (Scott helped us find sand dollars), enjoy the beautiful blue water, all while offering interesting tips/knowledge. Towards the end we came across dolphins and Scott didn't rush anyone (although he stays aware of wind & tidal change so he would if the weather required).

    For first time kayakers I definitely recommend going in a swim suit or anything you don't mind getting damp...if you ride tandem (2 in a kayak) the person behind might get a lil more damp sitting in the back (although I could just be a terrible kayaker).

    Highly recommend it as it's super fun and we will be doing this again the next time we visit St. Petersburg.

    Alaria Reyes Avatar Alaria Reyes
    10/23/2017

    5 star rating  Loved everything about it! Beautiful scenery. The guides were amazing and knew so much about the area, the wildlife and the water. Was a perfect day. Thanks so much!

    Becky Piekarski Avatar Becky Piekarski
    10/23/2017

    5 star rating  Amazing experience and tour guides - thanks Scott and Karissa! Can’t wait to come back with the kids �

    Amanda Hecimovich Avatar Amanda Hecimovich
    10/22/2017
  • 5 star rating  Great tour! I would absolutely recommend!! We saw dolphins and a beautiful sunset. Can't wait to book another tour 🙂 this was by far the best experience we've had on any kayak tours!

    Kristin Spaller Avatar Kristin Spaller
    10/22/2017

    5 star rating  so welcoming, you get your money’s worth. best way to spend a weekend with your family, for sure. scott and klarissa are the best tour guides i have ever encountered with, so friendly and up-beat. they make you feel safe and secure. best day ever 🙂

    allie spaller Avatar allie spaller
    10/22/2017

    5 star rating  Scott and Carissa were able to fit us in for a lovely spur-of-the-moment trip on a holiday weekend. The kayaking was relaxing and filled with an abundance of area wildlife - gulls, sandpipers, manatees, dolphins, stingrays, jellyfish, etc. We loved it. We took a break from kayaking for a walk along the sandy beach to gather shells and sand dollars. It was a welcome respite in the middle of a busy weekend, and the price can't be beat. We'll be back for sure!

    Jean Kirwan Fargo Avatar Jean Kirwan Fargo
    10/12/2017

    5 star rating  Amazing Tour guides...highly recommend , and experts in all aspects of kayaking.

    Linda Teresi Avatar Linda Teresi
    10/08/2017

    5 star rating  If you want the best kayak experience and tour for a fun and educational day with Scott and Karissa book today. Everyone in our group is planning another trip. I recommend the 50-50 for your first time out.

    Samuel Teresi Avatar Samuel Teresi
    10/02/2017

    5 star rating  Exceptional and friendly tour service provided by Scott and karissa. Their knowledge of the mangroves and ecosystem of Tierra verde is unmatched!

    Charles R. Cardo Avatar Charles R. Cardo
    10/02/2017
  • 5 star rating  

    Helen A Rodriguez Avatar Helen A Rodriguez
    9/19/2017

    5 star rating  Great and affordable kayaking experience. Self guided was easy and fun since you can go at your own pace. Saw dolphins, sea turtle, and stingray! Mangrove tunnels were quiet and relaxing too.

    Tyler Hernandez Avatar Tyler Hernandez
    8/22/2017

    5 star rating  Scott and partner were great! I booked the self guided kayak the day before for a small group of us and he provided me all the information I needed. He has his $25 special and up to three hours, which was the perfect amount of time to go exploring. He text me the drop-off location and we met him a little later than expected, but it didn't cut into our time. He is very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with a points of interest map that he found himself. We got to see dolphins up close and almost touched one, sting Ray's, and a rare sea turtle sighting! This was a great little half day trip that was definitely worth the price!

    Ty Hernandez Avatar Ty Hernandez
    8/22/2017

    5 star rating  Wonderful time on the water! A must do if you are in the area!

    Jessica Franklin Avatar Jessica Franklin
    8/07/2017

    5 star rating  Awesome experience!!! Scott & Clarissa are knowledgeable and friendly tour guides. The excursion was relaxing and enjoyable! We especially loved swimming at the beach on Shell Key and seeing all the wildlife. Thanks for a great time!!!

    Leslie Harman Avatar Leslie Harman
    8/04/2017

    5 star rating  We did a guided tour with Scott and Clarissa it was amazing! Thank you so much for making my sisters bachelorette weekend great!

    Ashley Franklin Marshall Avatar Ashley Franklin Marshall
    8/04/2017
  • 5 star rating  We had a wonderful time on our tour!!

    Pros:

    -Scott was a super knowledgeable guide

    -beautiful scenery!! Mangrove tunnels, wildlife and seashell island were beautiful!

    -our 5 year old did a tandem kayak with my husband and loved it! Scott was so kind and patient with the kids.

    -price is super reasonable.

    Cons:

    -none. It was really fabulous!!

    Amber H. Avatar Amber H.
    4/11/2018

    5 star rating  Look no further, this is the place to go kayaking.  Great local knowledge and they answered all of our questions about the area, fish, mangroves etc.  We would do it again.  Also, the price is right.

    Doug H. Avatar Doug H.
    3/07/2018

    5 star rating  Look no further, this is the place to go kayaking.  Great local knowledge and they answered all of our questions about the area, fish, mangroves etc.  We would do it again.  Also, the price is right.

    Doug H. Avatar Doug H.
    3/07/2018
  • 5 star rating  Found Island Kayak Tours on Yelp around 830 on a Monday morning. Saw one excellent review then noticed seven more reviews that weren't recommended. Clicked and all those were excellent too. Not sure why they aren't all recommended because they were all spot on and inspired me to call to see if they had any Monday tours. They had a tunnel tour starting in 30 minutes! Let's go!

    We met up on a public roadside where some people and other outfitters were putting into the water. Scott got us hooked up and off we went. It was beautiful from the start. Scott told us about all the wildlife. This area is sacred for him as he's been coming to the Shell Key Preserve since he was five. Tons of knowledge. He was able to answer every question I had.

    The mangroves were sweet to kayak through. The sun sparkled through holes in the canopy and it was cool to learn how nature was at work all around us.

    We stopped at a beach and hung out for a while at the halfway point. My wife found a whole sand dollar for the first time ever. Dreams came true that day.

    I highly recommend their service. Call them now.

    Clinton H. Avatar Clinton H.
    10/17/2017

    5 star rating  Found Island Kayak Tours on Yelp around 830 on a Monday morning. Saw one excellent review then noticed seven more reviews that weren't recommended. Clicked and all those were excellent too. Not sure why they aren't all recommended because they were all spot on and inspired me to call to see if they had any Monday tours. They had a tunnel tour starting in 30 minutes! Let's go!

    We met up on a public roadside where some people and other outfitters were putting into the water. Scott got us hooked up and off we went. It was beautiful from the start. Scott told us about all the wildlife. This area is sacred for him as he's been coming to the Shell Key Preserve since he was five. Tons of knowledge. He was able to answer every question I had.

    The mangroves were sweet to kayak through. The sun sparkled through holes in the canopy and it was cool to learn how nature was at work all around us.

    We stopped at a beach and hung out for a while at the halfway point. My wife found a whole sand dollar for the first time ever. Dreams came true that day.

    I highly recommend their service. Call them now.

    Clinton H. Avatar Clinton H.
    10/17/2017

    5 star rating  Scott and karissa are amazing in their services they provide.scotts vast knowledge of the wildlife and natural fauna added an educational component to the already wonderful trip.they are genuine people with a genuine love for the backbays of tampabay.

    Charles C. Avatar Charles C.
    10/01/2017
  • 5 star rating  Scott and karissa are amazing in their services they provide.scotts vast knowledge of the wildlife and natural fauna added an educational component to the already wonderful trip.they are genuine people with a genuine love for the backbays of tampabay.

    Charles C. Avatar Charles C.
    10/01/2017